IRS posts "Taxpayer Bill of Rights

July 22, 2014 Written by

The IRS has just issued a new “Taxpayer Bill of Rights” that you should be aware of.

The Rights are divided into ten main categories. According to this “cornerstone” document you have The Right:

* to be informed
* to quality service
* to pay no more than the correct amount of tax
* to challenge the IRS’s position and be heard
* to appeal an IRS decision in an independent forum
* to finality
* to privacy
* to confidentiality
* to retain representation
* to a fair and just tax system

Be aware that this “Bill of Rights” only applies to a Federal filed return and not the states. Please feel free to contact the office for more information.



Written by: Doug Rodrigues